Subscribe Now

* You will receive the latest news and updates on your favorite celebrities!

Trending News

Blog Post

Kwara 2023: Igbomina bloc makes case for Kwara South Senatorial Seat
News, Politics

Kwara 2023: Igbomina bloc makes case for Kwara South Senatorial Seat 

By Adebisi Oyelere

The Igbomina Agenda, a political pressure group within the Kwara South Senatorial District of Kwara State has made case for the ceding of the Senatorial seat to the Igbomina block in the interest of justice, fairness and equity.

Igbomina which is one of the socio-cultural tripod of the Kwara South also have the Ibolo and the Ekiti bloc to complete the tripod.

The group at its press conference addressed by its Secretary, Akinjide Ogunyemi which held at the Igbomina House, Ganmo, made case for the ceding of the slot to the Igbomina leg which boast of 3 local governments – Irepodun, Ifelodun and Isin out of the 7 local government areas making up the Senatorial District.

The release reads “The trend of political representation at the Senate from Kwara South has not been in line with the spirit of equity, justice and fairness. An overview of the trajectory of Senatorial representation in Kwara South since 1979 indicates a conspicuous imbalance in Senatorial representation.

“Thus; Sen. C. O Adebayo from Isin (1979-1983), Sen. Bisi Oyewo from Oyun (1992 – 1993), Sen. Salaudeen Thomade from Offa 1983 (3 months), Sen. Makanjuola Ajadi from Ifelodun (1999 – 2004), Sen. S. S Ajibola from Ekiti (2004 – 2015) Sen. Rafiu Ibrahim from Oyun (2015 – 2019) and Sen. Lola Ashiru from Offa 2019 – till date” he added

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *