Gov. AbdulRazaq re-elected for second term

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of Saturday’s governorship poll in Kwara State.

The Returning Officer, Professor Isaac Itodo announced him as the winner after the collation of results from all the 16 LGs in the state.

AbdulRazaq polled 226,956 votes to defeat Shuaib Yaman Abdullahi of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who had  123,118 votes, while Hakeem Lawal of the Social Democratic Party, (SDP) scored 17,321.

It could be recalled that AbdulRazaq emerged Kwara state Governor for the first term in 2019 on the platform of APC, with a total vote cast of 331,546 to defeat PDP’s Razak Atunwa who came second with 114,754 votes.


Ibrahim Sheriff is the Editor of Fresh Insight and former Special Assistant on Media to the Speaker, Kwara state House of Assembly. Although a management science researcher by training, he has over five years experience of practice in Journalism, Public Relations and Communication Strategy. Sheriff holds a Masters Degree in Finance and Bachelors Degree in Banking and Finance from Kwara state University, Malete. He has Certificates in Digital Journalism, Enterprise Creation and Skill Acquisition (ECSA) and Basic Econometrics Data Analysis, as well as Bank of Industry (BoI) Certificate in Business Management. He is also a holder of Diploma in Cooperative Studies from Kwara state Polytechnic, Ilorin.

Learn More →