APC Primaries: Majority of Kwara lawmakers fail to clinch party ticket …Assembly Speaker, AGF, Ojo, others win re-election bid

By Ibrahim Sheriff

As the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) conducts its primary elections for State House of Assemblies nationwide, today, fewer than ten (10) of the nineteen (19) members of Kwara state House of Assembly are able to secure APC Assembly ticket in their various constituencies.

Of the twenty four (24) member of the 9th Kwara legislative assembly, four (4); Saheed Popoola (SDP, Ojomu/Balogun), Ndamusa Mohammed Guyeji (SDP, Edu), Rapheal Adetiba (APC, Oke ero) and Abdulraheem Agboola (PDP, Ilorin South) ran for elections into the Green chamber of the National Assembly.

While Adam Rufai from Patigi was hedged out by zoning, nineteen (19) others contested for re-election under the platform of APC. Of the 19, only nine (9) has been declared winners at the primaries, while some others either withdraw sensing imminent defeat and others declared losers.

As at the time of filling this report, Fresh Insight gathered that Rt. Hon. Yakubu Danladi Salihu (Ilesha/Gwanara), Hon. AGF Salahudeen (Omupo), Hon. Ojo Olayiwola (Oke Ogun), Hon. Magaji Olawoyin (Ilorin Central), are among those declared winners of the APC Assembly race in their various constituencies.

Others included Mohammed Danbaba (Kaiama/Kemanji/Wajibe), Mohammed Baba Salihu (Okuta/Yashikira), Gbenga Yusuf (Eesa/Shawo/Igboidun) and Ganiyu Abolarin Gabriel (Ekiti). 

While Salihu won unopposed to emerge APC flag bearer for Ilesha/Gwanara constituency, Salaudeen pooled 38 votes to defeat his two opponents; Wale Oyinloye and Arc. Luqman Abubakar who both garnered a vote each.

Conversely, in Ilorin East local government, incumbent lawmaker Ali Amuda Jimoh was defeated by Arinola Lawal by a 47 to 13 votes. Also in Irepodun, Hon. Tayo Awodiji lost re-election bid to Olatundun Jare.

However, the fate of some lawmaker dangles as party primaries in their various constituencies were either marred by violence or held to ransom.


Meanwhile, some individuals who claimed they are supposed to be delegates and members of the APC have protested in various local government against what they described as fraudulent manipulation and substitution of delegates list.

According to Fresh Insight’s investigation, such protests were witnessed in Ilorin Central, Okuta/Yashikira and Odo Ogun Constituencies among others, some of which led to violence and stalled conduct of primary elections.

Our correspondent gathered that due to violence that erupted in Odo Ogun Constituency, which led to attack of Oyun Local Government APC Chairman in Offa stalled the conclusion of the Party primaries in the area.

Also, it was gathered that the party primaries could not hold in Okuta/Yashikira Constituency, due to disagreements over list of delegates and zoning of the State Assembly seat to a particular district of the Constituency.

However, it was later gathered that the primary which was supposed to hold in Yashikira was later moved to another village, where the incumbent lawmaker, Hon. Mohammed Baba Salihu was declared winner against his opponent with 28 votes against 7

Also, in Ilorin Central, viral video by some online mediums revealed protests by APC members against fraudulent manipulation of delegates lists.

In Share/Oke ode constituency, Fresh Insight gathered that the party primaries was marred with violence. The venue was disrupted and gunshots rented the air, as delegates and other participants scampered for safety.

In Owode/Onire constituency of Asa Local Government, the primary elections did not hold.

According to one of the aspirants, Rukayat Shittu, “The atmosphere was cool and calm as we awaits delegates and other coordinators for the exercise, and as soon as they arrived with immediate action to commence the primary election, a group of thugs shouting of one the aspirant name disrupted the peaceful atmosphere with gunshots everywhere while people run helter-skelter for their lives.”


Ibrahim Sheriff is the Editor of Fresh Insight and former Special Assistant on Media to the Speaker, Kwara state House of Assembly. Although a management science researcher by training, he has over five years experience of practice in Journalism, Public Relations and Communication Strategy. Sheriff holds a Masters Degree in Finance and Bachelors Degree in Banking and Finance from Kwara state University, Malete. He has Certificates in Digital Journalism, Enterprise Creation and Skill Acquisition (ECSA) and Basic Econometrics Data Analysis, as well as Bank of Industry (BoI) Certificate in Business Management. He is also a holder of Diploma in Cooperative Studies from Kwara state Polytechnic, Ilorin.

Learn More →